Mother’s Day

There are so many things that can be said about mothers. From the way that they bring you into the world and care for you, provide for you as you grow up, and love you unconditionally; giving thanks and recognition to these amazing ladies isn’t something that is all that easy to do.

But today, in this post, I’d like to give my mom all the love and thankfulness in my heart for her support as she’s in a new phase of life – a mom without kids in the house. As my youngest sister has gone off to college this past fall, my mom has had, for the first time in over 23 years, an empty “nest”. She is no longer doing a million loads of laundry every day, wiping tears off stained faces, making dinner for six, tucking little bodies into bed at night, or seeing us off to in the morning on the school bus. Her nights of waking up from the cries of an infant are over, her arms free from a diaper bag or one of her babies. I know how hard it was, I saw her each and every day. But she was, and still is, the image of a woman who puts her nose to the grindstone when life gets difficult. Even though her job as both a mom and a nurse was difficult, I saw focus as she loved us each and every day. My belly was always full, along with my heart. My clothes were always clean and my shoelaces were always tied. As a child, I knew that my mother was strong, she was composed. Nothing could really rock her boat, she was so secure and content.

(Before Rachie was born)

But now her life is different. It isn’t bad, it’s just different. Her job of being an “active” mother has come to an end. Her children are grown. Her role is shifted but no less important. Instead of making sure my bed is made, she’s on the other end of the phone listening as I tell her about how difficult my week is. Instead of making my dinner or packing my lunch, she’s still working full time to help support me and my sisters as we work hard in college. Instead of coming to my school plays and concerts, she’s on the front lines, praying for my future and my present.



And as my life continues to change, no matter what difficult or different things that come my way, I know that I have her support and love. Through the years, she has fascinated me in so many ways. Even to this day, I am still in awe of her strength and wisdom. As an adult, my relationship with my mother has definitely changed. She has become a dear friend and confidante, a listening ear and a shoulder to cry on. When I think about the gifts that the Lord has given me, she is definitely on the short list.

Happy Mother’s Day! I love you, Mom!

Leave a Reply

