4 Ways to Forget

Here are four examples from the Bible of how we actively forget God:

1. By forgetting God’s past works of salvation: “then take care lest you forget the Lord, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery” (Deuteronomy 6:12).

2. By believing lies instead of the Word of God: “This is your lot, the portion I have measured out to you, declares the Lord, because you have forgotten me and trusted in lies” (Jeremiah 13:25).

3. By going after other lovers: “And I will punish her for the feast days of the Baals when she burned offerings to them and adorned herself with her ring and jewelry, and went after her lovers and forgot me, declares the Lord” (Hosea 2:13).

4. By being satisfied with the temporary need of the hour: “but when they had grazed, they became full, they were filled, and their heart was lifted up; therefore they forgot me” (Hosea 13:6).

Taken from Desiring God’s Blog. Definitely sobering, as I have a tendency to forget my Savior and Lord far more than I should and much to my shame. The grace and mercy of God is definitely a means to draw me to repent, as I have been really convicted of recently. This really caught my attention today and hopefully, it reaches you too.

Leave a Reply

