Wanderlust

Dashboard Confessional – Bend and Not Break

For some reason, this song reminds me of driving through the Swiss Alps during the summer of 2005, looking out over the beautiful snow-capped mountains and crystal blue sky. I remember feeling tremendous amounts of change, a kind of shift happening in my consciousness. And yes, I realize how crunchy that sounds. But to be honest, during that summer I learned how to stand on my own two feet. I learned to appreciate how big and wonderful the world was. I realized that I could be whatever I wanted to be with a little hard work and perseverence, a concept that I still hold near to my heart.  What can I say? I was 17 and in Europe for the first time. Blame it on residual teenage angst or the introspective lyrics, but this song always makes me want to travel. Fortunately, my upcoming move to France should satisfy my need to discover and explore. I have the feeling that many many adventures are ahead of me.

Any Dashboard fans in the house? Come on, don’t be shy…

2 thoughts on “Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

