#Reverb11 – Body Integration

Prompt for today:
 Body Integration. This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but a simply cohesive YOU, alive and present?

Eh… I would have to say I felt the best about my body when I took up a new hobby during my time at UCLA – going to spin class. Basically, you cycle on a stationary bike super fast, with high resistance for extra effort. It was really really hard work at first, I’d come out of class absolutely drenched in sweat. But week by week, it got easier and easier. I felt better about myself, my clothes fit better, even the condition of my skin and hair improved. Having this high intensity type of workout was great, especially as I was sitting and writing papers for over 6+ hours per day. At the end of my study/writing sessions, my entire body just craved activity!

Cycling was the perfect remedy to an overly nerdy lifestyle. Unfortunately, there aren’t any spin classes in France. But when I get back to the USA, I really want to continue!

P.S. Check out last year’s post!

Leave a Reply

